The Key to a Scottish Man’s Heart

One of the things I’ve loved most about being out of college, married, and living in Scotland, is the ability to have the time to make great food. I’ve always loved to cook and bake, facts which my family and roommates will readily agree upon. I’m not sure where it all started, when I decided I was going to learn to make great food, but maybe it was after Lizzy Sampson and I ruined boxed mac and cheese (and still made our sisters eat it); that might have been when I realised it was time to step up my game a bit. I also think its my creative outlet. I’m not an overly creative or artsy person, but with food I can combine just the right things to make something delicious, if not always pretty. Being married to a husband who loves good food is very good encouragement to work on my skills! Since moving to Scotland, I’ve been amazed by the amounts of free time I have. I don’t have a nursing test to study for, a book I should be reading, a paper I should be writing, or careplans I should be… planning? Life outside of school is so freeing! It also helps that my work seems content to give me 25 hours a week and call that full time, but we’re working on that…. Anyway, with all of my free time, I find myself searching the internet for new foods to try and goodies to bake. Making bread doesn’t seem like as big of a deal when I can be around to kneed it every few hours. Although I would appreciate having my KitchenAid to assist in my bread making endeavours. One of my favourite UK inspired kitchen gadgets has been my kitchen scale. I recently broke down and bought one off Amazon, mostly because butter comes in 250 gram cubes, and I just couldn’t get my cookie recipes right, because converting grams to tablespoons is not an easy task. My life is hard, I know. Since buying it, I find myself using it every day! I use it to make cookies, brownies, bread, to measure how much pasta is left in the bag I have, to see how many ounces of tomato sauce my random box of sauce has… and so much more. I find that especially with baking, the results are much more consistent. I think a lot of it has to do with the butter issue, but its easier too! I just put the bowl on the scale, zero the scale, add my butter, zero, sugars, zero, flour, zero, stir and done! It just makes sense! I’ve enjoyed getting to try out this new way of measuring, and I think I’m converted! My cookies are perfect now! I took some to the pub while Jared was working one night and his coworkers went crazy for them. I would tell you what they said… but its not appropriate for me to repeat.┬áIf I could see you all in person, I’d share the perfect chocolate chip cookies I’ve been making non-stop, but I’ll just have to share the recipe with you and hope you make yourself some :) Or you can just come to Scotland and I promise there will be frozen cookie dough waiting to be baked into warm chocolate chip cookies!

Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies – Adapted slightly from MelsKitchenCafe.com

6 oz butter

7 oz brown sugar

3.5 oz white sugar

1 large egg + 1 egg yoke (often times here my eggs are quite small, so I’ll just use 2 eggs)

2 tsp vanilla

10.5 oz flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

9 oz chocolate chips (we like our cookies slightly less chippy)

1. Place butter in sauce pan over medium heat. Once butter has melted, stir continuously until there are some brown specks on the bottom of the pan, and the butter gives off a nutty aroma. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.

2. Using kitchen scale, measure out sugars and combine with browned butter. Add in vanilla and eggs, mixing thoroughly.

3. Zero the scale again with the bowl on it, and add flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir to combine. (Most recipes call for you to mix the flour, salt, and baking soda in a separate bowl, but I always just sprinkle the salt and baking soda over the flour and mix everything together in one bowl. Rebellious, I know).

4. Add chocolate chips and fold in.

5. Using a teaspoon or cookie dough spoon thing, roll cookie dough into balls, and place on parchment covered tray. Place tray in freezer for at least 20 minutes, allowing the dough to set. Once frozen, the dough can either be baked straight away, or placed in a ziplock freezer bag until you want them. I’m not sure how long they will last in the freezer, since they never last more than 4 days in our house.

6. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 165 C/325 F. Place cookie dough balls a couple inches apart on a greased or parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

7. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until edges begin to brown. I like to cook them until the edges just begin to brown, and then let them cool on the pan. They’ll just barely set and make for a perfect chewy cookie. I’ve also accidentally cooked them for like 20 minutes, and they still made a great crunchy cookie ;)

Hope someone enjoys! Come to Scotland and I’ll bake you endless cookies!

3 responses to “The Key to a Scottish Man’s Heart

  1. Pingback: Highland Adventures | The Road Goes On·

Leave a Reply

