BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches – and an update!

One of our favourite parts of St Andrews is the awesome community we have here. We eat dinner with other couples about once a week, and I love cooking great food to share with our great friends! Since starting my new job, we’ve been really busy, hardly a night off! I’ve been working the night shift, 8 PM- 8 AM. That means the day before I work, I try to sleep in and take a nap, and the days between shifts, I sleep til about 5:30. The day after my shifts, I only sleep about 3 hours, but then I’m just knackered the rest of the day (how’s that for a British word?). I’m pretty much tired all of the time, but I think maybe I’m adjusting a bit. I also have still been working a few shifts a week at the restaurant, so I’m a busy girl! Jared and I use our free time together to relax. There have been a few times where we’ve gone nearly 48 hours without seeing each other, so we enjoy the time we get! We’ve been having some great weather, so we’ve been going on walks and enjoying coffees here and there. Its been an adjustment, but its worth it to finally be back in the nursing world!

A lovely walk on the West Sands

A lovely walk on the West Sands

An evening in Edinburgh after I had work training

An evening in Edinburgh after I had work training

Nursey nurse

Nursey nurse

 

Working in a care home is a completely different world than I’ve ever experienced, but there is a lot of opportunity for leadership and growth! There are 3 of us on at night, and 33 residents. There’s a lot to be done and always 3 places we need to be at once, but I’m already developing relationships with our residents and seeing the impact we have on their lives.

Last night we finally had some time, and we had some people over from Jared’s work, and I made them one of our favourite meals: BBQ pulled pork sandwiches. I don’t claim that this is in anyway a healthy meal, but it is absolutely delicious and one of the few things that we ALWAYS eat the left overs. Its also a really easy meal to make ahead of time and just heat up right before. I usually serve it with Strawberry Spinach Salad, these potatoes, and homemade rolls. Last night, I ran out of time and bought ¬£1 rolls from Tesco, still delicious :) We also had homemade cookie dough ice cream sandwiches for dessert. Our friend ate 3, so basically, they were good. There’s a million pulled pork recipes out there, but here’s how I cook ours:

BBQ Pulled Pork

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 kg Pork Shoulder
  • 1 onion
  • 1 Bottle of Beer (I have used lagers, ales, really whatever is in our fridge or on sale)
  • 3-4 cups BBQ Sauce. I make my own using this recipe.

1. Slice the onion into wedges¬†and scatter across the bottom of the crock pot. Place the whole pork shoulder in the crock pot, and pour the beer over the pork. Cook on low overnight, 8-10 hours. I’ve done up to 11 hours and it doesn’t seem to make much difference.

2. In the morning, place the whole inner piece thing in the fridge until it has cooled (2-3 hours, or as long as you want, really). Once cooled, remove the pork to a cutting board and reserve the juices. Using two forks, shred all of the meat, it should almost fall apart.

3. About an hour before serving, return the meat to the crock pot, stirring in the BBQ sauce and about 1/2-1 cup of the reserved juices. Warm up on low for about an hour or high for a half hour. Serve on rolls with some caramelised onions and extra BBQ sauce! We enjoy leftovers as sandwiches, on nachos, in quesadillas…the possibilities are endless!

 

Leave a Reply

