My Attempt at Becoming the Pioneer Woman

As many of you may already suspect, I have a secret desire to be The Pioneer Woman. She bakes, she cooks, she says funny things… and so much more. I love her, the food she makes, and the stories she tells. I have always loved cooking and baking, and have found even these to be a new adventure in a new country! Even the simplest meal becomes an adventure to make, and I am going to share a few of these adventures here on some “food themed” posts. Here goes nothing!

One of the first things we quickly discovered here is that meat is considerably more expensive than at home, and you cannot buy it in bulk. The week after our honeymoon Jared and I went with his mom to Costco and bought a bag of chicken and a giant pack of ground beef. That lasted us until we moved here, and we ate chicken A LOT. When we got here and bought a bag of frozen chicken, it had 4 pieces in it. That just will not really last us very long… So I’ve been trying to get creative to use cheaper meat to make good food! One thing that is pretty cheap here is whole chickens, so I set out to roast a whole chicken and veggies. It was surprisingly easy! I’ve told a couple of people here that I would share the recipe, however I don’t really remember exactly what I did, but I’ll try. And I am going to try putting the measurements in UK format, since I have to learn them sometime!

Jared's artsy picture of our delicious meal!

Jared’s artsy picture of our delicious meal!

The chicken I bought already had the insides taken out, so I didn’t have to deal with that 🙂 I softened about 50 grams of butter and mixed in about a of tablespoons of mixed herbs, a teaspoon or so of rosemary, half teaspoon of seasoning salt (I can’t remember what this was called here, but its similar to Lawrys), and some pepper. Then I just used my hands to smear this all over the whole chicken. It was pretty gross, but totally worth it! Make sure everything is covered! I cut up a lemon, and put it along with about 5 cloves of garlic inside the body of the chicken.

Then I cut up enough potatoes, carrots, onion, and zucchini to cover a 35 cm x 24  cm pan and mixed a couple of tablespoons of olive oil, about 2 teaspoons of the mixed herbs, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, and a teaspoon of seasoning salt and stirred them all up. Then I just put the chicken right on top of the veggies and put it in the oven at 220C for 20 minutes and then turned it down to 200C for about an hour. Its done when the juices run clear when the leg is cut away from the body (I read that somewhere, I’m not that good yet…)

I stirred the veggies around a couple of times but mostly just left it to do its thing! It was delicious and we had left over chicken to eat in salads later in the week.

One of the funniest things in our kitchen is the size of our oven. It is about 1 square foot inside, so I can’t make much at once! I’ll take a picture of it soon.

Making cornbread without cornstarch is my next cooking themed story 😉

One response to “My Attempt at Becoming the Pioneer Woman

  1. Save the bones and stuff to make stock. Just put them in a pot of water with some onion and any trimmings from the vegetables (carot skins) and simmer for several hours then strain it. This makes a good base for soup or braising some of those cheaper cuts of meat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

