baking and a birthday and a dissertation

Fall is flying by and I realised I have only blogged once or twice in the past few months. Sometimes I find it hard to figure out what to write about. Our daily lives don’t seem that interesting or “blog-worthy”, to use a term Jared and I have started using in jest. Yet when I look back over the last month and a half or so, it all adds up, so here is a bit of an update about what we’ve been up to in the daily grind.

Jared is swimming up to his ears in books to read for his dissertation. With the blessing of his supervisor, he has settled on a topic to begin pursuing! He will be looking at the writing of Karl Barth and Stephen Charnock in relation to their theology of the Divine Attributes. There is much more to this and it is fascinating (it really is!), but I will allow you to speak to Jared individually, as I will just butcher it if I try to explain. Now he just has to read everything they ever wrote and everything written about what they wrote, and then he can start writing. We’ve been thankful for our Amazon Prime membership as he continues to discover new books that should be read.

My life continues to be much of the same. I am still working at the care home and taking shifts at the restaurant, and trying to fit in as much social time as possible in between! We have helped to start a new home group at our church this year and are loving getting to know a new group of people more deeply! Our first week our group was composed of citizens of four different countries (five if you count Mississippi and California as different countries….). We are constantly amazed at how God can bring together people from all over the world to study his Word and grow in him together.

Some of our new friends, Moritz and Kim, are in our group. They are a couple from Germany who we have quickly connected with. Kim loves to bake and has baked us a few loaves of German sourdough bread which we have devoured, and she has shared her German recipe books with me as well! I’ve been using an app called WorldLens to help translate! My dad found the app and it has been perfect for traveling. It is difficult to explain, but basically as you hold your camera up to whatever you want translated, and it instantly translates it before your eyes. I highly recommend it. It has been fun to have another friend who loves to bake!

Pumpkin White Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake

Pumpkin White Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake

This past week was my 25th birthday, a quiet day spent doing some of my favourite things: talking to my family, baking this Pumpkin Cheesecake with white chocolate mousse (yum. I think I’ll have a slice for breakfast), eating dinner with Jared and Harry (tomato soup and pesto grilled cheese on homemade french bread), and relaxing with some girlfriends in the evening. I’ve been baking constantly with my new stand mixer (thanks mom and dad!), and it was fun to have another excuse to bake!

We took the time off to relax in London, and now we’re back to the daily grind until December 16th, when we’ll board a plane home for Christmas! But who’s counting? I shall try to be better at updating more frequently!

Leave a Reply

