Working and Running

Last Monday I started working at a hospital nearby, and it was one of the most difficult days of work ever. Luckily, it quickly got better, and by Friday I felt like I had my feet under me. I was thrown in to the job, but sometimes you just have to figure it out. Luckily I know how to be a health care assistant, so after a couple of days, I had the schedule down. I am working on a respiratory ward with 30 beds. I work 8 hour shifts, either 7:30-3:30, or 1:00-9:00. I am loving sleeping at night, even when it makes for some early mornings and some late nights. I take two buses to get there and back, and it takes about 45 minutes to an hour, depending on the connecting bus. I’m one week in, and recognising some of the differences between Scottish and American hospitals. I don’t have many opinions on which is better or worse, just seeing how different systems work. I am hoping to learn a lot while I am here, and use that knowledge to convince an American hospital to hire me as a nurse when we move back. Fingers crossed.

Also, somehow I have made a great mistake, and signed up to run a half marathon in May. My friend Hayley seems to have an addiction to half marathons, and she convinced me to run the marathon with her. Well, we are running it on the same day, she’s a pro, and I’m hoping to finish it. I’m using a training program that involves running three times a week, and so far the furthest I’ve run is 5 miles. So we’ll just double that at add 3.1 and I’ll be good. Part of the motivation to actually do this, is that it takes place on Tiree, a small island off the west coast of Scotland. We literally run across the island and back, and along some of the most beautiful beaches. Hopefully it won’t be too bad.

Jared and Hayley’s husband, Jeff, are hoping to surf these beautiful beaches. The only available accommodation is camping, so we are camping after the race. Jeff and Hayley love to travel and adventure possibly more than we do, and we are looking forward to all traveling together!

Leave a Reply

